Voice Recognition
Search Button
X
Northwest High School

Clubs & Activities

List of Clubs & Activities

Art Club -  Andrea Stewart (Club Sponsor): astewart@nwlsd.org  
Business Professionals of America -  Peter Clark: pclark@nwlsd.org
Drama Club - Matt Marratta: mmarratta@nwlsd.org
Show Choir - Matt Marratta: mmarratta@nwlsd.org
Family, Career, Community Leaders of America -  Allie Timmers: atimmers@nwlsd.org
Key Club - Michelle Taylor: mtaylor@nwlsd.org
National Honor Society - Jennifer Boughton: jboughton@nwlsd.og
Color Guard - Tim Huening: thuening@nwlsd.org
Marching Band - Tim Huening: thuening@nwlsd.org
Winterguard - Tim Huening: thuening@nwlsd.org
Orchestra -  Cassie Crawford: ccrawford@nwlsd.org
Book Club  - Bethany Miller: bmiller@nwlsd.org
Student Book Reviewers - Bethany Miller: bmiller@nwlsd.org
Student Senate -  Kelli Young: kyoung@nwlsd.org  Shannon Bowling:  sbowling@nwlsd.org 
Yearbook -  Shawn Gilliand: sgilliand@nwlsd.org 
Anime Club -  Fred Matson: fmatson@nwlsd.org 
Freshman Mentoring Program -  Kelli Young: kyoung@nwlsd.org  Lori Spence: lspence@nwlsd.org 
U-Knighted Knights - Brett VanGaasbeek: bvangaasbeek@nwlsd.org 
Academic Quiz Team - Jennifer Boughton: jboughton@nwlsd.org 
Ping Pong Club -  Doug Ficker: dficker@nwlsd.org 
Spanish Honor Society - Lindsey Long: llong@nwlsd.org 
French Honor Society -  Audra Buckley: abuckley@nwlsd.org 
Diversity Appreciation Club - Lindsey Long: llong1@nwlsd.org Deb Fields: dfields@nwlsd.org

Academic Quiz Team

Academic Quiz Team

Teams of students use their acquired knowledge of content specific information and general trivia in order to answer questions in a competitive setting against other teams in the league. Season runs from November through March, with both Varsity and Junior Varsity Teams, involving some travel."

Faculty Advisor -  Jennifer Boughton: jboughton@nwlsd.org

Business Professionals of America

Business Professionals of America

Staff
Peter Clark - Teacher
Kim Connor - Teacher

About
Business Professionals of America is a national organization for students pursuing futures in business. The Northwest Chapter of BPA has approximately 250 members this year from our Financial Services program and all of our introductory business courses.

We meet once a month in Room 317 (usually the second tuesday of the month).

Color Guard

Color Guard

Staff:  Timothy Hueninig: thuening@nwlsd.org  (Club Sponsor), Ashley Pease (Designer and Instructor)

Website:  Northwest Bands

About:
The Northwest High School Color Guard is directly tied to the Northwest Marching Knights.  The color guard provides a great deal of visual impact for the Marching Knights.  These students perform by spinning flags, rifles, sabers, and any other equipment that is deemed necessary for the design of the Marching Knights Competitive Show.  They perform at all Marching Knight Performances including Mid-States Band Association Sanctioned Events, Varsity Football games, community events, and fall pep assemblies.  This group travels to every 2-4 years.  In the past 12 years, we have traveled to the Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL, Cedar Point (Sandusky, OH) and The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (Cleveland, OH).

The Northwest Marching Knights and Color Guard rehearse for 2 weeks in the summer (band camp), and Monday’s and Wednesday’s throughout the season.  Additional sectional rehearsals may be called if necessary.  The vast majority of our performances occur on Fridays (Football) and Saturdays (Competitions).

Past Accomplishments:  2015:  Colerain Band Invitation: Best Auxiliary Class AA
                                           2016:  Lebanon Band Invitational:  Best Auxiliary Class A
                                                           Mason Band Invitational:  Best Auxiliary Class A
                                                           Colerain Band Invitational: Best Auxiliary Class A
                                                           MSBA Championships: 4th Place Auxiliary Class A

Drama Club/Spring Musical

Drama Club/Spring Musical

Staff
Anna Lettieri - Club Sponsor

About
Full vocals, acting, choreography, costumes, and sets!
Starting January 23rd - May 6th

Family, Career, Community Leaders of America

Family, Career, Community Leaders of America

Staff
Carol Strotman - Class Sponsors
Adrienne Frazier - Class Sponsors

About
Any student who is enrolled in a Family and Consumer Science class is eligible to join for a fee of $15.00.
This club does community service projects and work on skills competition for those who are interested.
FCCLA meets once a month, after school in Room 110/112

French Honor Society

French Honor Society

Société Honoraire de Français

Advisor: Audra Buckley: abuckley@nwlsd.org

The object of this organization is to stimulate interest for the French language, to improve the level of knowledge and scholastic success by acquiring enthusiasm for the French culture and civilization in order to maintain the friendship between France and the United States. This is a nationally recognized honor society organization. Students are invited to join this organization in French 3 based on their GPA in French as well as their overall GPA. Students are inducted each spring.

Key Club

Key Club

Staff
Michael Long - Club Sponsor

About
Key Club provides service to the School, Community, Nation, and Internationally.

Meeting Times are 2:50 pm in the cafeteria on the below dates:

Sept. 22nd
Oct. 20th
Nov. 17th
Dec. 15th
Jan. 26th
Feb. 23rd
March 29th
April 26th

Marching Band

Marching Band

Website:  Northwest Bands

Tim Huening: thuening@nwlsd.org Club Sponsor

About
The Northwest Marching Knights are a competitive, extracurricular performing group that is directly tied into the academic Band Classes offered throughout the school day.  The Marching Knights compete in Mid-States Band Association sanctioned events throughout the fall season (September to early November).  We perform at the most of the Varsity Football Games, community events, pep assemblies in the fall, and any other event that we are asked to be at.  This group travels to every 2-4 years.  In the past 12 years, we have traveled to the Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL, Cedar Point (Sandusky, OH) and The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame (Cleveland, OH).

The Northwest Marching Knights rehearse for 2 weeks in the summer (band camp), and Monday’s and Wednesday’s throughout the season.  Additional sectional rehearsals may be called if necessary.  The vast majority of our performances occur on Fridays (Football) and Saturdays (Competitions).

For students that do not play a band instrument, please check out the NHS Color Guard.  This group provides a great deal of visual impact for our Marching Band.

Past Accomplishments:             2016:  Kings Band Invitational:  3rd Place Class A
                                                           Lebanon Band Invitational: 2nd Place Class A
                                                           Mason Band Invitational:  3rd Place Class A
                                                           Colerain Band Invitational: 4th Place Class A
                                                           MSBA Championships: 13th Place Class A (28 bands in the class)

National Honor Society

National Honor Society

Staff
Kristin Stegman - Club Sponsor
Sarah McMullen - Club Sponsor

About
NHS does peer tutoring and community service.
NHS has month meetings that occur after school in Room 130

Spanish Honor Society

Spanish Honor Society

ABOUT
The Spanish Honor Society at Northwest High School is comprosised of students who strive to meet their maximum potential in Spanish Language Learning.  All Spanish III students are encouraged to apply for membership, but only students who meet the requirement of a 3.5 GPA in advanced Spanish courses and 3.0 cummulative GPA are selected to be inducted.

Students will be selected for membership in April of 2017, and will be formally inducted in May of 2017.  The sponoring organiziation "AATSP" offers scholarship opportunies and resources to all inducted.

Advisor: Lindsey Long -  llong@nwlsd.org

Student Senate

Student Senate

Staff
Patty Dailey - Club Sponsor
Shannon Bowling - Club Sponsor

About
Student Senate involves event planning and School and Community Service.

Freshman Orientation, Homecoming, MORP, Variety Show, Spirit Weeks, Knightfest, Semester Care Package, All student Recognition Day, ect.

Student Senate meets daily during homeroom, monthly in auditorium during the school day (varies by day and bell), afternoon and weekend committe work.

http://nwhssenate.blogspot.com/

Winterguard

Winterguard

NHS Winter Drumline

Staff
Tim Huening - Club Sponsor
Sarah Boys - Club Sponsor

About
Perform in MEPA winter drumline competitions.
Students must be in band, orchestra, or choir to be eligible for this group. Auditions are held in November for the winter season.

Times vary through the winter in Room 54

Yearbook

Yearbook

Place your yearbook order for the 2016-17 edition of Excalibur by going to: http://yearbookforever.com

Yearbooks are $75 and only available until May 15th!

Your parents can also order special graduation ads or embarrass you with baby pictures from this site.

Advisor - Shawn Gilliand: sgilliand@nwlsd.org 

We also have select editions of past yearbooks available for sale.  The price depends on the vintage of the yearbook.  Contact Mr. Gilliand with questions.