Departments

 

Mathematics

Contact: Heather Kidd

hkidd@nwlsd.org

Elementary Math Specialists:

Colerain Elementary - Amy Smith  asmith@nwlsd.org

Monfort Heights Elementary - Carrie Dreyer  cdreyer@nwlsd.org

Pleasant Run Elementary - Kristie Flannery  kflannery@nwlsd.org

Struble Elementary - Alison Walker  awalker@nwlsd.org

Taylor Elementary - Kristi McGuire  kmcguire@nwlsd.org

Middle School Instructional Coaches:

Colerain Middle - Kim Heyob  kheyob@nwlsd.org

Pleasant Run Middle - Alison Dreisbach  adreisbach@nwlsd.org

White Oak Middle - Susan Houchen  shouchen@nwlsd.org

The State Board of Education has adopted Ohio's Learning Standards in Mathematics. The Kindergarten - Grade 12 standards have been fully in use in Ohio classrooms since the start of the 2014-15 school year.

These mathematics model curricula were written by Ohio educators to support the implementation of Ohio's New Learning Standards in Mathematics. In March 2011 the State Board of Education adopted model curricula to match the standards. 

Elementary

Students are instructed on grade level standards in a heterogeneously grouped classroom. Teachers use differentiated instruction to meet the academic needs and learning styles of all students. Students in grades 3-5 will be assessed using the state standardized test.

enVision Math Online Textbook:
www.pearsonsuccessnet.com

Middle School

Most students are instructed on grade level standards. Advanced sections are available for students who are ready to work beyond grade level. Applied math is available for students that need additional instruction on grade level or previous grade level standards. Students in all grade levels will be assessed using the state standardized test.

Big Ideas Math Online Textbook:
www.bigideasmath.com

High School

All students must successfully complete Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II in order to meet state graduation guidelines. Students are also required to take a fourth math class of their choosing. Students in the class of 2018 and beyond are required to successfully complete the Algebra I and Geometry end of course exam provided by the state of Ohio.

Prentice Hall Online Textbook (Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II):
www.pearsonsuccessnet.com

McGraw-Hill Online Textbook (Pre-Calculus):
www.connect.mheducation.com

AP Statistics and Calculus Online Resources:
www.collegeboard.org

 

Ohio Standards By Grade Level (K-8)

In February 2017, the State Board of Education adopted the revisions to the Ohio Learning Standards for Mathematics. The 2017 standards now have been modified into grade-level specific documents with the standards, mathematical practices and tables relevant to the grade level. The standards describe what students should understand and be able to do. Standards do not dictate curriculum or teaching methods. 


Standards By High School Course & Conceptual Category

In February 2017, the State Board of Education adopted the revisions to the Ohio Learning Standards for Mathematics. Soon after the 2017 standards were adopted, the high school standards by course were available for both the traditional and integrated pathways. The standards describe what students should understand and be able to do. Standards do not dictate curriculum or teaching methods. 

State Testing Information and Resources

oh.portal.airast/ocba/students-and-families

Math Practice Websites

MobyMax
Brain Pop
Xtra Math

Please use the link below to view model curricula and additional resources for K-12 Mathematics.

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Ohio-s-New-Learning-Standards/Mathematics